El Paso, TX

July 18 - July 28, 2024 • El Paso, TX


Screenwriting competition finalists announced

July 21

Ten finalists have been named in our second annual Plaza Classic Film Festival Screenwriting Competition.

The finalists and their screenplays are:

Humberto Castro Dreamality

Marie Desrosiers Infanticide

Justin Kalman A Tale to Tell

Joanna Karler and Liana Morales That One Night in J-Town

Don Patterson Freddy Reno Went Missing

Arturo Portillo The Killing Kind

Diego Rico A Permanent Record

Ktohri Ross The Behavior of Grace

Carrie Silva Best Dive in the 915

Samuel Taylor At the Mercy of Faith

They are eligible for a first prize, which includes $500, FinalDraft 12 and a script consultation with writer-director Lucky Mckee, and the second prize of $250 and FinalDraft 12. First and second prizes will be announced soon, and their awards will be handed out at the Local Flavor Showcase and Awards at 4 pm Sunday, July 30 in the Plaza Theatre.

The finalists and the public are invited to hear them pitch their screenplays at our first PCFF Screenwriting Pitch Fest, which is at 8 pm Wednesday, July 26 at the International (INTL), 114 E. Mills, across from San Jacinto Plaza. It’s FREE. Each participant will have 90 to 120 second to “pitch” their screenplay to the audience, which acts as the producers, and a judge, filmmaker Hector Gallardo, who will chose first prize. The audience will choose second prize, by applause.

First prize if $300 toward production of a short film of the winner’s screenplay. Gallardo’s Submharmonic City Productions will shoot the short film. Second prize will be whatever our interns can collect in a bucket from those in attendance!

Local Flavor, the screenwriting competition and Pitch Fest are sponsored by El Paso Film and Creative Industries Commission.