El Paso, TX

July 18 - July 28, 2024 • El Paso, TX


PCFF partnering on The Film Race — Borderland Edition Closing Ceremony

September 15

Three teams. Five days. One $10,000 winner.

The Film Race — Borderland Edition is on.

Based on earlier Film Races in Illinois and Indiana, The Film Race — Borderland Edition is a reality-based film competition that pits three five-member film teams from El Paso and Ciudad Juarez against one another. It is produced by Film 765.

The three competing teams will have their films screened and the $10,000 winner will be announced at the Closing Ceremony at 7 p.m. September 26 in the Plaza Theatre, sponsored by the El Paso Community Foundation Plaza Classic Film Festival. It is FREE and open to the public.

Gyro Studios (led by Josh Pulido), Human Beans (Alecs Roman), and Intelia Films (Roberto Ramirez) will showcase the beauty that is El Paso by shooting their films from September 15 to 19 at various locations in El Paso and Socorro.

The films, which can run no longer than 12 minutes, must be edited and submitted by September 22. Each team will be accompanied by a film crew to capture all the behind-the-scenes action and drama.

All three films will be judged by a panel of film and TV industry veterans, including actors Rae Dawn Chong (The Color Purple) and Misha Kushnetsov (Stranger Things). Also on the panel are: producer-director Naveen A. Chathapuram; actor-director-writer Myles Clohessy; El Paso-born actor/producer Damon Dayoub; Camera Ambassador founder Erica Duffy; and Pride of Gypsies producer James Mendoza.

The finished films and behind-the-scenes footage will be shown in the Closing Ceremony on September 26.

The Film Race — Borderland Edition is sponsored by the El Paso Community Foundation Plaza Classic Film Festival, Flo Networks, El Paso County, Destination El Paso, Hunt Companies, JKB Family Limited Partnership, Rudolph Auto Group, and Tammy Vasilatos CPA.

To donate to The Film Race, go to epcf.org/filmrace.